Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Race & Equity Team at Cascadia

    welcome

    Mission Statement

    To inspire all staff to embrace a culturally competent approach to education and in their daily lives, through creating a welcoming environment, community outreach, and incorporating student voice. We hope to promote students of color to school-based leadership positions and give all students a voice.

    Vision Statement

    To empower students, teachers, and staff to be advocates for a more socially just future.

    2019-2020 Action Plan

     We intend to create a welcoming, inclusive environment and increase family and student voice in decision making and creating change. We intend to communicate our goals and actions more frequently and clearly with the larger community. We will offer several parent education nights, work towards increasing parent participation through a survey and a co-design night. We will also provide the staff with ample quality resources to use for BLM and trauma informed teaching strategies. We plan to have a website up and running by the spring. We will also start the practice of land acknowledgements at our meetings. 

    Cascadia's Race and Equity Team Members

    Sandra Mackey samackey@seattleschools.org

    Merrick Bodmer msbodmer@seattleschools.org

    Dina Clagg dsmcardle@seattleschools.org

    Kaitlin Lawler kmlawler@seattleschools.org

    Sarah Egger-Weiler saeggerweile@seattleschools.org

    Camille Paul clpaul@seattleschools.org

    Ashley Toney aetoney@seattleschools.org

    Nathan Brown ntbrown@seattleschools.org

    Parent representative - Ivan Gonzalez inclusion@cascadiapta.org

    Race & Equity Blog